There is No Such Thing as Normal Social Media


I hurt my back about a week or so ago.  I’m not completely living on Ibuprofen, but I kind of am.  The problem is that I like to constantly push myself.  I like to try to better my best performance in everything I do or else I don’t see the point of working out.  Well, what has that gotten me?  A back that isn’t healing and me being almost in tears.

Tonight, I had a yoga teacher finally talk some sense into me.  I broke and told him that when he was adjusting me that I wanted to cry.  What did my honesty get me?  Some alternative positions that actually gave just the right amount of stretch to my injured back and may actually help it to heal.

So why am I telling you all of this?  I think a lot of us in social media get caught up in hearing how people are doing xyz and then think that we should do xyz.  We want to be on top of everything and end up bending ourselves (and our organizations) into these pretzels thinking that this makes us great social media strategists.  Nope, it just makes us pretzels.

Some keys to remember are:

  1. You don’t have to be everywhere.  It’s perfectly acceptable to just participate in one or two spaces and do them well.
  2. Just because someone you admire is doing their space a certain way, it doesn’t mean that it’s the right way for you to do it.  Different audiences demand different things and your voice (the voice of your organization) is unique.  Be proud of what you have and use it.
  3. If it doesn’t feel right, then it probably isn’t.  Experiment until you’re comfortable and you are getting what you want out of your space.
  4. Be okay with failing.  Sometimes you need to do it to do something great.

What it all boils down to be your most awesome, imperfect self and success will follow.  So how else can we make sure that we aren’t tying ourselves into pretzels?

Leave a Reply

