Unlock Your City by Unlocking Foursquare Badges


This past weekend, as many of you know, #Geekcation happened and it was a little crazy.  It was one of the more demanding vacations I’ve ever taken and it was one of the only vacations I know of that actually had a social media strategy.  The biggest part of the #Geekcation strategy?  By far, unlocking as many Foursquare badges as humanly possible.  I was pretty proud of having unlocked seven, but I left with the feeling that I could have done more.

This brings me to an idea for all of you CVBs reading this.  Have you considered doing a visitors guide with itineraries totally based on unlocking Foursquare badges?  It could  include how to simply unlock single badges such as the Karaoke badge to how to maximize your time to unlock the most badges possible in one day.  With the colorfulness and downright adorableness of the badges, this has the possibility to be an extremely good looking visitors guide in the hands of the right graphic artist.  This would also screams a need for an in real life event, although I am still juggling around how that might go.  It has to be fair to those of us that already have many of these badges.

I know many of you are trying to get Foursquare to do badges for you and I also know many of you probably do not have the budget for such an undertaking.  This could be your alternative and a rather cheap alternative.  In addition, it could teach you a lot about your city.  Can you tell me off the top of your head where three photo booths are in your area?  Well, after my little experiment, I can tell you where three are in Chicago.  In fact, I feel like I can tell you a lot about Chicago that I would not have known otherwise after #Geekcation.  I experienced more about that city than I have any other and I most definitely have Foursquare to thank for that.

It goes without saying that this would be part of an overall Foursquare plan that should include a CVB leaving tips at all of their member locations, checking in only when it is an interesting check in (i.e. a big event) and educating all of your members about the benefits of using Foursquare.

So has anyone done a Foursquare badge visitors guide?  Is there anyone out there working on one?

2 Responses to “Unlock Your City by Unlocking Foursquare Badges”

  1. Sarah Page Says:

    Pretty awesome idea, Betsy! What are the budget requirements for doing Foursquare badges? Would this be cost-prohibitive for small to mid-size DMOs? Even if going the badge route was too expensive, you could still do some pretty cool Foursquare itineraries and promotions. As usual, awesomeness!

    • decillis Says:

      I don’t know the exact requirements, but I’ve heard that it is pretty steep. That leads me to believe that it is cost-prohibitive for the small to mid-size DMOs. If it is something you are hoping to explore further, give a shout out to Tristan Walker of Foursquare (@tristanwalker) and he will take care of you.

      All in all, using this space is going to be much like using other social spaces. You are going to have your Cadillac versions and you are going to have your Joe Schmo versions. We need to start working on getting the Joe Schmo versions more relevant and innovative.

Leave a Reply

